Rob finished day one with 14 dogs and is in 13th place (2 seconds behind 12th)!
Great finish, team!

He will be heading into the chute today at 1:26 AKST and 5:26 EST!

LIVE times courtesy of : http://www.sleddogcentral.com/2012_onac/index.htm
LIVE web cam:
http://www.livestream.com/gcimanagedbroadband
Radio station:www.kfar660.com

His times:
Danby out (3 miles): 10:05
Creamer's Out (5 miles): 16:23
Creamer's In (9 miles): 32:02
Henrick Court (14 miles): 46:32
Danby In (17 miles): 58:02  
Total Time : 71:18.5


Rob's team for Day 1:
Picture
Reads from L to R. Names cut off: Deno and Barney (White Leaders)
Were you happy with the dogs?
I almost missed the start because a volunteer told me the wrong time. So I thought I had 6 minutes but it was more like a minute and a half. So when you have a start like that it can make for a rough day but it didn't effect us. I didn't stop once and I had a clean run [you could hear the smile on his face while saying this]. On a real icy section, I had a dog slip on a curve by the railroads (6 miles out). From there he started loosening up on the lines. We went around the entire course without him pulling. I thought about loading him but he was maintaining our speed at around 17 mph. Had I loaded him, would we have went faster? It's hard to say. "The slough" is a pretty tough spot for the dogs.  On the way in, the dogs seems to have a little bit of trouble there. I was given advice not to talk to them much through that area because it causes them to push to hard and injure themselves. Some mushers come up and train specifically at the slough, so they can blow right through it. Our training has been really good, we have had no issues with anything that has been thrown at the dogs, as obstacles. With our trails and (lack of) training back home, I am very proud that my dogs have completed this with little to no effort. We just lack conditioning. Other than that, I am extremely pleased with the dogs performance.  ONAC is a harder faster course, and that is better for us. There aren't as many obstacles as the Fur Rondy because I think the trail itself is the biggest obstacle. I was complimented by a top driver behind me in the roster, on our pass, that's always nice to hear.  This was the first clean run since I've been here and that was encouraging. The team and I are just starting to come together, two to three more weeks we will be in peak performance.

How are the dogs holding up? Do you think you can keep up the pace?
I've got some pretty big dogs on my team, so we'll have to see. I will be dropping 2 dogs, maybe more, depending on how they look this morning. Bumblebee and Brave will definitely be being dropped. I was making myself keep my mouth shut and letting the dogs do the work. It's hard when you're in a competitive mode, you want to push the dogs and there are times for it (when they are conditioned) and then there are times that it isn't beneficial, which is the case here. As for keeping up the pace, if my dogs hold up, it's a tight race we've got there in the middle of the pack. It looks like there are a couple of drivers within a second from me...We'll see.

Are the fans just as doting up in Fairbanks?
Yes. People love mushers and sled dogs! The street was lined with people on both sides. There are a lot of people in the village, but not as many people as the Fur Rondy.  I am actually a little surprised at how many people are routing for me. I had a couple of fans help me water the dogs and asked to help today, as well.  A woman told me she would arrange a place for me to stay [in Fairbanks] the next time I come up. Isn't that great? The people of Alaska and the fans of mushing are so generous and caring.
Picture
Entrance to University of Alaska: Fairbanks
Robin S
3/18/2012 09:53:29 am

Holy!!! What a culminaion of racing, Rondy ONAC..need I say more I have so many questions....NO DOGS in the basket...ending with less...sounds like more to me, keep up the good work GO TEAM PAWPOWER!!!

Reply
Mara Bacsujlaky
3/18/2012 02:45:43 pm

Hi: I was a race official for this ONAC (marking dogs) and thus met Rob. I have some photos of him and his dogs - I figured since he was here solo he might not have had many pictures taken of him. If you would like me to send them to you digitally, email me at the email I had to provide for this comment. Your dogs are wonderful and the team looked great....for the first time to Alaska - Rob did extremely well. He was one of the nicest racers to mark dogs for....cheers

Reply
7/14/2012 12:36:45 am

This was an incredible post. Truly loved studying your site post. Your data was very informative and beneficial. I believe you�ll proceed posting and updating frequently. Searching forward to your subsequent 1.

Reply
7/17/2012 08:06:55 pm

I came towards the exact conclusion as nicely some time ago. Great write-up and I will probably be sure to appear back later for far more news.

Reply



Leave a Reply.