March 16-18 – 67th annual Open North American Championship
Unlimited (20/20/27.6 mi.)

The race starts at 1:00 pm AKST (Rob will be leaving the chute @ 5:22pm EST)

Get LIVE times and INSTANT info @:
http://www.sleddogcentral.com/2012_onac/index.htm
Listen LIVE @: http://tunein.com/radio/KFAR-660-s32581/

Rob attended the Musher's Bib Draw last night and got bib #11.

"I've definitely learned a lot since I have been up here. The training runs were from 10-20 miles. I should have stayed with my schedule and continued to run 20 mile runs because the dogs weren't as conditioned. I thought the trails might have been in better shape than in Fairbanks but that turned out not to be the case. So, we got enough training in to have a good time in the ONAC. This race is going to be used as experience for the dogs and driver. There aren't as many obstacles in this race but it's a lot faster!  As of now, 4 Rondy finishers will not be on the team. To be successful, you have to have a wide selection of conditioned dogs, slower dogs for Rondy and faster dogs for ONAC. My team wasn't competitive this year, because of the lack of hookups due to the weather, as I know it can be. At the same time, I am tired of doing this by myself. It gets old and it can be discouraging. In my heart, I know that I am in the right place. But it's much more fun to have someone to enjoy it with. Handling help is a huge component that has been lacking in our team for many years. With someone willing to devote time and energy,  I know we could come up with competitive team. Our goal for the ONAC is to finish the race. This has been a lot of fun, learning to race a mid distance race at sprint speeds. I wish I had my team of two years ago. They were ready for this race. I've not even run the ONAC yet and I already want to come back."

Picture
ONAC Trail 2012 Fairbanks, AK
Regina
3/16/2012 06:09:46 am

Ummmm....Wouldn't his time be 5:22 pm EST???

Reply
Robin Sharpe
3/16/2012 09:35:55 am

Hey Rocket Man, dont burn out your fuse up there alone, your not done yet!!! Your fans are all with you mind and spirit even tho you could use a "Body", you bit off a huge peice and your chewin it pretty good, its all about the learnin like you said. good luck this St. Patty wkend, Go Team Pawpower!!!!

Reply
mushar rob
3/18/2012 01:21:43 am

Thank you so much Robin. Im all most done eating. LOL

Reply
musher rob
3/18/2012 01:26:31 am

It would be nice who is watching me. Not much support from musher friends from the east. :(

Reply



Leave a Reply.