Picture
Jewel, open race leader!

How are you liking Alaska?
"I probably could live here [laughter]. I like the people, they are friendly where ever you go. I enjoy the slower paced atmosphere, gives you time to take it all in. But I'm just getting used to waking up and having it dark out. Before I was like, "Holy crap! It's 9 o'clock?!" These passed couple of days I've been able to wake up at 6-7am and be ready for the day. I like to see the mountains everyday. It's just like, "WOW!" I am constantly impressed with them and you know what, it looks different everyday! I definitely look forward to seeing the other seasons."

Any stand out experiences so far?
"Probably the first stand out would be when I was at Tongass National Forest, just off the ferry in Juneau. I was really taking in the view, trying to take a self portrait of myself and I saw a car signal over and stop. It was a woman who had stopped to see if I needed assistance. Back in NY, I am not sure they would do that. So, the biggest thing that has stood out is the people are friendly and helpful. Oh! Talk about a standout moment, the big dipper stands on it's handle up here--back home its looks like the Big Dipper looks like it's pouring! The first time I saw it I was like, "What the heck!?"

Have you seen the Northern Lights?
"Nope, I've stayed up once near the Talkeetna turnoff because the sky was clear. I was hoping to see something, but I didn't. But I have a while, I've got to go to Fairbanks yet, so..."

Are you ready for your 1st race since opening  "PawPower Pet Supply"?
 "Not really, because I am not going to be as competitive as I know I can be. I am going to try not to be bummed out about my placing but--[chuckles]...I am probably going to be bummed out about my placing! But, you know.. I am not going let it bring me down because I know where we are in training. I am here this year to have fun and enjoy Alaska!"

How many days/miles in the open race?
"The race is 16.5 miles for the open, Saturday and Sunday."

What is the line up for your open race team?
"Jewel and Barney will definitely be in lead. She is 2nd to the slowest dog on the team, but by far the most dependable leader; Barney is 2nd. Jewel is just flawless...flawless, [chuckles] except for speed."

Do the dogs have enough training under their belts to be successful in their first race?
"Yeah, we'll get through the course with no problem. I don't know. I've never raced up here, so I don't know how to compare race times here. After a 14 mile run, they seem pretty chipper, settling in at 17.5/18 pace. But I have only been on a couple good trails. This will be the first time that I will be asking a little bit of the dogs. I haven't even tried calling them up [increase speed] yet during training. I am looking at this as being more training for further distances and the obstacles we haven't seen (the people, tunnels, bridges...) There are about 9 dogs on the team that this will be their first race. So, we'll see what happens. But you know what I keep getting from other mushers is, "you have really well behaved dogs." so hopefully that will translate to obedience on the trail."

What are you expectations this weekend?
"I am going out 19th, 3rd to last...so the trail will be torn to hell! Ah well, that's how it goes. I am planning on positioning myself for the next day. Just looking to get through without stopping the team. I will probably have the smallest team in the lineup, that's just a guess. I am thinking I will go with 12 dogs. There are 5 rookies, the bottom 5 haven't ran this race before."

There are a lot of big names in the lineup (Ellis, Reynolds, Kornmuller, Chezik and more), are you at all intimidated?

"Shoot there are more big names than that: Tetzher, Conn...but no, I'm not intimidated because I know I don't have a team. This is probably my least experienced team since I started racing open class. Let's put it that way. But oh yeah, I am absolutely the bottom guy but you know what, I am just going to go and have fun! It's probably the best way to sum it all up. I know I don't have a competitive team this year but we will make it through the races happy and healthy and I will have a well behaved team! There are 21 teams in the open class...that's the biggest class [Shocked]. In the states, the biggest classes are the 4 and 6!"

Rob is also entered in the 6 dog for his B team to get a taste of racing, as well!


For race information and updates please visit ASDRA's website:
http://www.asdra.org/exxonopen_info.html

Rob would like to thank:
"My lovely wife, Kathy. She is home taking care of puppies and adult dogs. She has her hands full....at work and home and the store. Thank you, I am extremely grateful for your to do this for me. I love you so much."

"Josh,  I really wish you could have got a chance to stand on the runners this year for all the help this summer and fall. You did all the work and didn't reap any of the benefits. I am thinking of you often, up here! Thank you for your help!"


"Thanks to Matt, for helping out when we need an extra hand."

"To Regina for starting the blog and Marrissa for helping report the daily grind. You guys are doing a wonderful job! Thank you!"

"The patrons of PawPower Pet Supply, a HUGE thank you for donating your hard earned money to "Rob's Quest for Rondy Fund" and believing in me! We raised $2032.53!"


There are several other people he would like to thank but his mind is on getting ready for the race, right now. Please know that if you were at all involved with making this possible, Rob is extremely thankful and grateful for all of your hard work and support!



Kathy
2/10/2012 11:29:15 pm

Good luck today! Praying that you kick some butt! Love ya!

Reply
Stephen Arnold
2/10/2012 11:45:59 pm

Good luck Rob. We are rooting for you to have a safe and fun race.

Reply
Robin
2/11/2012 12:13:46 am

How AWESOME it is to see your name on the musher line-up, I say I know him!!! Have a great time and good luck today, Go Team Pawpower!!!!

Reply
Musher Rob
2/11/2012 01:22:12 pm

thanks everyone how ever we are not trying to race to a good finish, as we are to exposing all the dogs that have never seen a race and for that race to be Exxon Mobile are you kidding me right now!! I wish my main dogs could be enjoying it wit me. The front of my open team iran in the 6 dog 8 mile team. :(. Young team very big race. Still happy dog driver.

Reply



Leave a Reply.