Picture
15 minutes until the start of the 2012 Fur Rondy Open Class Sled dog Race!
24 teams and 8 rookies will make for an exciting race!

The best way to get your FILL of the Fur Rondy is by tuning into the local radio station KHAR590.com and get INSTANT times/results, interviews with the drivers, facts, history and more! Even call in and give a shout out to your favorite musher!

Get ASDRA RESULTS:
http://asdra.org/furrondy.html
Watch LIVE feed [Refresh using F5 key]:http://www.borealisbroadband.net

Last night as Rob was relaxing before the big race so I got a chance to ask him a few questions about the race:
How was the trail viewing yesterday?
"The trail viewing was fun! The trail condition is a lot better than it was for ExxonMobil...I mean the trail is so hard and packed that you can ride your mountain bike it won't punch through [laughter]. It's going to be a very hard, fast trail..which will be great for the dogs. Some of the corners are extreme but nothing like the corners at my house. It would be neat for future Fur Rondy trails to be more challenging for the musher. Bring on the "Jim Blair" trails at Burke Mountain, VT. Those trails are about showing off the dogs talent and the mushers talent!"

Do you have the final line up?
Barney (L) Jewel (L)
Austin (L) Deno (L)
Daisy (R)  April (L)
Holland    Elenor (R)
Cooter(R) Ballz (R)
Bumblebee(R) Mrs. (R)
Luke (R) Dallas


(L)- Leader (R)- Rookie

"This lineup is still without 5 of my main open class dogs; Murdock, Rose, Jed, Odin and General Lee. The Rondy is big but I have to look out for the dogs. I've got the ONAC on my mind, too."

How are the dogs condition for this caliber race?
"I haven't had much luck with clean runs, since I've been here. We're making great time but not clean [laughter]. We have been doing a lot of catching up on foreign training ground. Getting used to the trails up here is exciting but dangerous for the dogs. Some of my main dogs are out because of stepping in moose tracks in the trail. With that said, the dogs have had a week off.
Good, bad or ugly..I needed to make sure we were ready. There was a lot to do for prepping for the race, especially deciding to run just a couple days before. The Fur Rondy is a huge deal and it was important for me to put a lot of time into cleaning up the truck. There isn't a car wash that my truck will fit in. I mean, the truck alone takes me 2 hours to clean. I've got a system down, disinfectant and all. The dogs needed new straw in their boxes after the truck was cleaned. They needed their nails clipped, feet checked, body massaged. Not to mention the daily feeding, watering, scooping, loading, unloading. 31 dogs and 1 musher. It's a lot of work but...the experience has been thrill seeking and exciting, totally worth it."

What are you thinking as you look at the line up and see your name; Rob Worden, Mexico, NY!? [Technically it say's Ron Wordon...but we'll let it slide :)]
"It's not easy for a new guy to be 'accepted' into this sport; to get the information you need to reach your potential and have fun. Many of the open class drivers in Alaska have made me feel comfortable and have been very welcoming. They have offered up training trails, hospitality and genuine love for the sport. It's a great opportunity for PawPower Racing to be running with the best in the world. And after all, "it's all about the dogs."

Do you have a method, as a rookie, going into a World Class Championship
race...dead last?
"You know, I was thinking; I am perfectly fine with my bib draw. Going 24th gives me the perfect amount of time to get the dogs ready [out of the boxes, harnessed, lines, gear]. I'd like to be in the shoot 44 minutes after the first, "Go Driver," or whatever they say up here [laughter]. I will probably have one of the smallest teams, with the most rookie dogs. But I mean, there is no body 'bad' here; maybe 3 unrecognizable names. I am just going to try to stay at 16/16.5 mph. I am going to keep my mouth shut, and let the dogs do the work. I'll let them get into their groove and from there we're just having a good time. And even if we come in dead last, then I would still be the 24th best open class in the world [chuckles]. If you have any better sprint dogs... then come on up and enter the Rondy."


How are your nerves?
"I thought I would be a lot more nervous than I am. But, I know I am going to be running the dogs within their capabilities. Overall, I could say all this and have the exact opposite happen. As a team, we have never seen a crowd quite like this. I am positive Jewel (daughter of Speck) and Barney (son of Polar) will do the right thing. And, I have had a lot of encouragement from top drivers in the open class. Ultimately, we are here racing in Alaska to have fun, so that's what we are going to do! Let's Fur Rondy!"

Knowing your team personally, I know that your team consists of all your own breeding's. Does that strike up any emotion for you?

"It's a dream [chuckles]. We aren't as prepared as we could be but its been a long emotional road getting here. The conditions on the ferry got tough at times but because of the love and respect we have for each other, my dogs were very well behaved [chokes up]. Some of these dogs wouldn't even have made the cut but they are here running a world class race. I am so proud of them. This will officially be my girl, Jewel's last race. I need her great decision making and wisdom to lead the team. She is a terrific sled dog. Barney is up there for his braun. He is a hard, fast leader...he sets the pace. All the work, time, help and donations have paid off. Our goal is accomplished. We are in Alaska, racing The Fur Rondy. I am so thankful for all support I have had a long the way."


Picture
Traditional Fur Rendezvous Pin 2012
Beth Arnold
2/24/2012 12:24:41 pm

Just checked the finish times for Day One - Congrats Rob (and the team) for finishing four spots ahead of where you started!!! Keep that pace up!!

Reply
Lori Koshowski
2/25/2012 02:16:46 am

I've be following your progress Rob, sounds like an amazing journey. It's really inspiring us back in Vermont, realizing that dreams can come true!!! We are cheering for you all the way and we'll miss you at the Burke Mtn Sled Dog Dash

Reply
Marrissa
2/25/2012 04:20:25 am

Lori, thank you for following my dad. I know he really appreciates it. He definitely had a shout out to you guys at Burke Mountain! Love Vermont! Anyway, hope winter is coming around for you guys! Happy Trails!

Reply
rick
2/25/2012 04:28:25 am

Let's kick some @#&!!!!

6/25/2012 05:44:24 pm

How old is this post?

Reply
7/26/2012 05:52:04 pm

simply great event and looking forward to it.

Reply



Leave a Reply.