UPDATE: Just spoke with Rob! He is in Anchorage at Cordova Hill. (Note: A typical winter day in Alaska, taken at around Noon.) He is heading to Wasilla, AK, as it is a central location for trails and mushers! He is still in excellent spirits and is continued to be amazed by the people and scenery in Alaska.

I just got a call from Rob, he is passing the Virgin Creek, near Girdwood, AK. This is also known at the Alyeska Resort area. He briefly reported that the views are just, "Wow, amazing!" It's exciting to hear him say that because when I was in Alaska, a group of friends and I spent a day at the resort. I remember commenting and thinking the same things, "This is the most beautiful place on Earth!" It is breathtaking to see endless mountains alongside a beautiful waterway almost the whole length of AK-1. I will report more later but for now, all is well. The dogs are healthy and happy to be on land!

If you want to follow Rob's route visit: http://g.co/maps/wv8t2

(HINT: To see the actual street view: Click the link below. Click and drag the little orange guy to wherever you want on the blue highlighted route. From there use the navigation buttons at top left to look around!)
musher rob
1/25/2012 06:23:49 pm

Dog are very happy and eager to run. A couple are rebounding from late fall injuries very well and will run for the first time in a little over a month. I will be going very slow and for a short distance and see how they look. Lets keep our fingers crossed.A couple small scuffles on the high seas, with no major injury's. Deno has a puncture on his left forearm, healing very nice should be ok in a couple more days. In Whittier Luke,Herbie,Ball z jumper out of the top boxes right on very hard ice. They NEVER jump out. I think Herbie re aggravated an old injury.
No straw or shavings were aloud, so bare boxes. Good thing I had the truck isolated with closed cell foam spray. Just got done strawing the boxes and feeding. Time for me to eat. More to come.

Reply
7/26/2012 04:09:59 pm

It is really fun event and I like this event very much and I am desperately waiting for this event.

Reply



Leave a Reply.