Remember to tune into live coverage of the Fur Rondy @ KHAR590.com
LIVE WEBCAM (REFRESH FOR NEW PICTURE) @ borealisbroadband.net
Picture
The calm before the storm! 4th Avenue, Day 2 of The 2012 Fur Rendezvous!
"Congrats to my Dad and his team for not only finishing the 1st day at Rondy but finishing 4 places above where they started. Now, we all know that your team isn't up to it's potential and honestly, that's what makes me even more excited about years to come. So here is to Day 2 at the 2012 Fur Rondy in ANCHORAGE, AK! You make me so proud. I love you!"
- Marrissa

What are your thoughts on day one?
"I am about where I thought I would be. The team looked sloppy to me but I've also never ran 27 miles before. Everyone keeps telling me that my dogs looked good coming in.  I ran my 9 year old leader, Jewel the first day. I wanted to make sure we would get through all the obstacles without any hesitation. The team was definitely a lot slower because of her. She slowed the pace way down at about the 15-18 mile mark. Ballz is turning out to be a terrific dog and his feet are ideal. And probably the best part of day one is Deno is back! He was strong on the tug line the whole race and several training runs before that. So, that settles it, I am putting Deno back where he belongs; leading with his brother, Barney."

Did you have a clean run?
"Right before the race I accidentally stepped on April's toe. As I was stepping out of the back of the truck, she had her two front feet on the back bumper and before I knew it, she let out a big cry! I was debating on whether or not to take her but she seemed fine and was putting pressure on the foot.  I ended up taking her, just to bag her around 14 miles, so we lost time there. And, I was told not to bootie the dogs but Austin has had problems with his feet, so I bootied him. And let's just say I am not going to bootie the dogs tomorrow. Austin's bootie was shredded and might explain why he was running a little funny."

How has your strategy changed for Day 2?

"The day will be a little different because instead of going out of the shoot 1st-24th, we are going out 24th-1st. So, I will be going 4th out of the shoot tomorrow. I'm not going to hold the team back as much as I did today. But, I needed to make sure they weren't going to be too tired at the finish. Barney and Deno will definitely set a much faster pace and hopefully I won't have to load any dogs. I will be using my wooden Chatmac sled because the new Spyder sled is not customized to my liking, just yet. I decided that I will also be dropping Dallas and April.  We got some snow in Anchorage overnight so I am assuming that will slow the trail down. And of course, we are just looking to have a good time!"

How did you and the dogs handle the crowd?
"Not a problem with the crowd at all, and it was about 1/4 mile from the dog truck to the start line. 4th Avenue was so fun! As the team and I headed down the trail, I waved to the cheering fans. There were a lot of people, waving, cheering and just so supportive. It was really cool. It made me think of and appreciate all the outwardly supportive mushers and friends from back home. I love to see the encouragement. Seeing friendly comments on the blog and Facebook really gives us a boost! Keep them coming and thanks for following us!"

Kathy
2/25/2012 04:23:57 am

Good luck today! I miss you!

Reply
paula and art
2/25/2012 05:40:29 am

you go rob mexico ny is proud of ya keep going

Reply
Jason
2/25/2012 05:46:04 am

Great job on day one. Good luck on today's run!

Reply
Regina Caldwell
2/25/2012 10:08:11 pm

I missed coverage of the race on the first day but heard the play by play on the 2nd day. They do a great job and it was awesome to have someone to route for. Good luck on the last day Rob!

Reply
Robin Sharpe
2/25/2012 10:28:25 pm

Way to go Team Pawpower!!! Keep up the hard work and Good Luck for the last day, its all downhill now!

Reply
6/24/2012 08:31:36 am

Nice blog, just wanted to say I found you through Google

Reply



Leave a Reply.