Sorry to keep everyone waiting!
It's a long process creating these blogs, as I want to make sure that I get the information spot on and accurate.

A BIG congrats to Rob and the team for finishing "the worlds toughest open class sprint race"

Day 1: 1:47:39
Day 2: 1:56:06
Day 3:2:04:14
Total: 5:47:59
Place: 22nd

Rob on, "Day 3":

"The last day seemed shorter than day 2. We didn't have a faster time but it was a smoother run. I had to bag Bumblebee right after the Airstrip and if I had bagged her earlier,--or not even taken her--it would have saved us time.  I have definitely learned so much about racing from these 3 days."

"The most memorable portion is when we were coming up Cordova Hill and a crowd of spectators and volunteers started chanting, "Barney, Barney, Barney!" It was very emotional for me because I cannot express how proud I am of him. He ran 44 miles in single lead. In the Fur Rondy...that's huge! Not only the miles but all the obstacles along the way--cheering crowds, BBQ's, people running along the trail and the trail itself. He was unphased by all of it until I was coming up over Cordova Hill.  There was a woman that jumped out and started leading him, as if he was going off the trail. I kept saying, "Don't lead my dogs, don't lead my dogs." Barney lost focus after that and just as he got back into pace, a man started running along side the trail calling his name. It's really cool to see strangers knowing the name of my lead dog but it took him out of his groove again and definitely put us behind. What are you going to do? Anything can happen, to anyone. So, we ended up finishing with 7 dogs and 1 in the bag:
Barney
Eleanor       Daisy
  Mrs.           Holland
Bumblebee  Ballz
                  Luke
"I was greeted at the finish line by Egil Ellis' mom (who Rob cannot spell or pronounce her name but has permission from her to address her as "Egil's mom" haha) and Egil's wife, Helen. After 2 big hugs and Congratulations; Rob would like to thank them for their kind words and continuing support."

Rob on, "The Mushers Banquet":

"The Sheridan Hotel put on an awesome meal and the company was great! The banquet was fun, I got my entry fee back for finishing the race, along with a Fur Rondy bib with the place I finished and a picture of my team going out on the first day on 4th Avenue. It was really nice, considering my placing. It is still hard to say because I am not used to being at the bottom of the pack but with the Fur Rondy you have to be proud to finish."

"A couple drivers came over to my table and said they thought Barney should have been awarded for his outstanding performance. I was surprised that there wasn't a Humanitarian Award or Sportsmanship award and things like that."

"If we come up again, I will definitely be in need of some help at the kennel/handling. I am not as tired and sore as I thought I would be but this is very difficult to do on your own."

"One thing that did touch me was something that Guy Girard (8th place finisher) said at the podium, "If you are a sprint musher and you don't race in the Fur Rendezvous; your career will never be complete." He went on to explain that out of every race he has entered around this world that "...the Fur Rondy is the most prestigious." I am proud of us...we weren't even going to run the Rondy. I managed to get solid training in at Montana Creek and Tozier Track; giving me the option of putting together a rookie team. I looked at it as an opportunity of a lifetime, best dogs or not. I came up here on vacation and racing the dogs in the Fur Rondy was just the icing on my BIG piece of cake [laughter]."

Rob reports that the dogs look great and are enjoying their rest today. Rob is resting today, as well. He plans on heading back to Willow to train the dogs that were off during Rondy, at Montana Creek. From there, he is heading up to Fairbanks to start training on the Reynolds trails, preparing for the Open North American Championship race March 16-18th.

Last but not least, "Thank you to Kathy, my wife, for holding down the fort and helping my dreams come true. I wish you were here to share it with me. I love you!"


paula and art
2/27/2012 06:31:55 am

hope all goes well for ya good luck and enjoy the dogs....

Reply
Robin S
2/27/2012 08:31:33 am

Rob what a way to run with the big dogs! Congratulations! Marissa, and everyone technically, this was great! Even the live feed, I agree with Regina. It all was so well put together I think Rob thought we were there, I am so impressed with the Rondy and sprint racing and learned alot (coming from an Iditarod junky perspective) I'll wait to hear more updates! On to ONAC and GoTeam Pawpower! oh yea PS, I could hear you say"Dont lead my dogs".anyone else catch it

Reply
Regina Caldwell
2/27/2012 08:57:04 am

Yes Robin! I did hear Rob and knew for sure it was his voice but did quite make it out. I heard, "______ _______ my dogs!!" For a moment I thought there was something really wrong and he was asking for help with them. Glad to know I was wrong. ;-)

Reply
Musher Rob
2/28/2012 01:03:34 am

Thank you Marrissa for the wonderful job you are doing with the blog. I would love to have you on my team again, so we can hit this race with everything the Worden team has. The only thing that needs correction is that my boy Barney ran lead a total of 44 miles in the worlds hardest sprint race!! Would you like to handle for Pawpower Racing please contact me at 315 963 7387 and leave a message at the store and I will get back to you. Thank you ALL

Reply
Igor Stavinsky
2/28/2012 01:12:11 am

Haben Sie irgendwelche Slobovian Warzenschweine begegnet?

Reply
Doug C
2/28/2012 07:04:33 am

Rob-

What a great race. I get my updates from your wonderful daughter here at Farfel's in Boulder. She's a great addition to the Farfel team.

good luck in the next great adventure!!!

Doug C

Reply
Musher Rob
2/29/2012 03:32:25 pm

she seams to do well at whatever does. Thanks

Reply
Pierre LePeeu
2/29/2012 01:12:59 am

Phacochères Slobovian sont dangereux! Restez loin d'eux!

Reply
7/11/2012 07:47:23 pm

Great info, thanks

Reply
7/16/2012 08:18:57 pm

I am very much pleased with the contents mentioned.I wanted to thank for this great article. I enjoyed every little bit part of it and I will be waiting for the new updates.

Reply



Leave a Reply.